Tobacco control: legislative and regulatory overview of May 2021

NATIONAL REPORT – Tobacco laws and regulations are under constant review at the local, state and federal levels. In this monthly overview, Convenience store news highlights the latest proposals and approved changes happening in the United States.

ALABAMA

Montgomery – Governor Kay Ivey signed the Tobacco Act 21 on May 17. The move raises Alabama’s legal minimum age for purchasing tobacco products from 19 to 21, and brings it into compliance with federal rule. The new legislation also bans advertising aimed at consumers under the age of 21.

ALASKA

Juneau – Alaska lawmakers are considering legislation to bring the state’s legal minimum age for purchasing tobacco products into line with the federal age. The bill would reduce the state’s tobacco purchases from 19 to 21.

ARIZONA

Phoenix – State senators have approved legislation calling on retailers to obtain a license to sell tobacco, vapor or nicotine substitutes. The bill would also prohibit municipalities from regulating the sale and marketing of tobacco products and instead follow state laws. The bill was transferred to the Arizona House of Representatives.

CONNECTICUT

Hartford – The state’s General Assembly Finance Committee revised legislation to ban the sale of flavored electronic cigarettes and vapor products in Connecticut. The original proposal called for a ban on all flavored tobacco products, including menthol cigarettes. If it had come into effect, the ban would come into effect on January 1, 2022.

ILLINOIS

Springfield – Lawmakers in the State House of Representatives have passed a bill banning advertisements for steam products intended for underage users. The bill would also require vaping stores to verify customers aged 21 or older when purchasing vaping products, and it would prohibit vaping stores from offering coupons for vaping products in the store. The bill now goes to the State Senate.

NEVADA

Carson City – State lawmakers have approved legislation raising Nevada’s legal minimum age to purchase tobacco products to 21. The legislation is now on Governor Steve Sisolak’s desk for his signature.

OREGON

Salem – State senators voted in favor of House Bill 2261, a measure that bans the online sale of nicotine e-cigarettes and vapor products. The Oregon House of Representatives approved the bill in April. Legislation is now heading to Governor Kate Brown for her signature.

UTAH

Salt Lake City – U.S. Rep. Chris Stewart (R-Utah) joined Rep. David Trone (D-Md.) And Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-Ill.) In reintroducing bipartisan law on accurate reporting of smoking variants. The legislation proposes that electronic health records include options for vaping, waterlines, and other types of smoking, in addition to cigarettes and cigars. This would allow providers and researchers to better understand the prevalence of the use of alternatives to smoking.

VIRGINIA

Radford – Radford City Council has approved a 25-cent increase in taxes on cigarettes and tobacco products. The increase takes the tax from 15 cents to 40 cents when it goes into effect 30 days after the May 24 vote.


Source link

About Margaret Shaw

Check Also

MEPs call for legal age for buying cigarettes to be raised to 21

MEPs called for a consultation on raising the age for selling cigarettes to 21 to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *